Race for the prize (M/F+)

Stories that have little truth to them should go here.
RopeBunny
Millennial Club
Millennial Club

Race for the prize (M/F+)

Post by RopeBunny »

- I'm going to say this at the beginning, just to clarify. I love modified cars, myself and people I care about are into the scene, and because of this I feel like I know a fair amount. But I'm no expert. No doubt at some point in the story here I'll write something that's technically wrong. But this is a TUGs board, not a car one, so please, if/when I do mess up cut me some slack. Simply enjoy the story. Thank you. -

Friday night, not quite Saturday morning, and anyway, it isn't Saturday until you've been to bed and woken back up again. Right?

Up behind the local Leisure centre, in the long narrow overspill car park that separates the Ice Rink and adjacent Railway main line, a group of street racers have gathered. In the far corner, nestled underneath a half dozen Sycamore, almost fifteen cars are sat side by side and in rough half circles. This is their usual spot, a place they all drive to whenever they happen to be out, to see whether anyone else in their crew is out too. No need to phone around. Other groups have other meetups: Toys R Us, the name is old habit, the shop's been closed almost a year now. The top of town. Even the underground, which refers to a specific abandoned office blocks car park. But here, the Leisure centre, is theirs. It isn't territorial to the point of gang wars, more of a respect thing. Sometimes everybody, for a variety of reasons, ends up in the same car park, a sea of noisy and low slung shining metal. Quite a sight to behold. But not tonight. Tonight is just the Leisure centre, just this group.

"Hey." Jake nudges Andy, currently bent over the engine of his 99 plate Integra Type-R. "Hey mate, look."
"What?" Andy replies, distracted. "I'm trying to retighten this air hose, fucker came loose again racing Smiths RS here. This new clip should sort it though."