How I learned to stop worrying and love escapology (F/F)

Stories that have little truth to them should go here.
Stiletto Amore
Centennial Club
Centennial Club

How I learned to stop worrying and love escapology (F/F)

Post by Stiletto Amore »

It’s probably fair to say I wasn’t a typical girl growing up.

For one thing, unlike my friends, whose bedrooms were covered with images of boy bands in various states of undress, I was obsessed with escapology and the only pictures on my wall was a full sized poster of Harry Houdini and some Nancy Drew book covers.

I borrowed heaps of library books about the Great Man, reading about his career and studying his techniques.

In my childhood fantasies I was always the school girl detective, no bond could hold me and no gag could silence me. I learned how to pick locks and practised on bicycle chains and padlocks I liberated from my Father’s tool shed. Eventually I graduated to a pair of actual handcuffs I found at an old flea market and after a great deal of good natured pestering managed to bully my Mother into buying them for me (I told her it was for a Halloween costume)

“But Sam, it’s only March!” she replied, not unreasonably

Nonetheless she consented to the purchase and I spent the next few months learning how to unfasten the lock using a hair pin.

Eventually, I became so confident in my skills that I decided that I wanted to demonstrate my new found ability by performing a great escape in public.

Feeling suitably emboldened I invited all the kids in the street to collect all the ropes, chains and padlocks they could find in their house and meet me in the shed at the foot of our garden.

They came in their droves, their arms laden with various ropes and leather belts.

They came with dog leashes and old skipping ropes frayed at the edges.

They came with rusty iron chains that had been left outside for far too long.